Reflection on the web, should producers have their content made freely available online?

Reflection happens when I look back and think.

Looking back on my previous post, after reading two blog posts (Lelia’s and Zin’s), and a comment from Zin, what did I learn?

I have learned about two other disadvantages of free online content.

Lelia’s post mentioned a disadvantage of open access publishing to be the reduced quality of articles due to the author’s pressure of writing more to cover for publishing costs. In my opinion, open access publishers are more likely to be the ones who are pressured as they focus more on quantity over quality. Zin had also touched on this point in her post.

Another disadvantage Lelia mentioned, was about underappreciated authors. This is not just about the lack of readership. It is about citing from the right source. After writers cite from the primary source, some writers would cite from the secondary source. As this goes on, it becomes confusing as to who was the original creator of an idea.

I learned that I need to emphasize on a major advantage of open access publishing.

Zin’s post was about the advantage of open access publishing for education. Indeed, reducing education costs is a very important advantage.

In Zin’s comment on my previous post, she asked if I was against open access.

My answer is, “Rather than being against open access, I recognize the need and importance of open access but do not believe that it is possible in the near future.”

The more articles rejected after review, the more it costs for the chosen article to be published. Given that reputable publishers are more likely to produce articles with quality, what is the likelihood of readers switching from paid content to open access? Even with that aside, what about the information overload from the quantity in open access?

(300 words)

Leave a comment